Another one bites the dust

Branquinho RunwayVeronique Branquinho F2009 RTW

I know I’m a bit late on this since it was announced in late May that Veronique Branquinho would be closing down her shop and forced to liquidate due to the current recession.  I’d written about  Branquinho’s work in a previous post and noted that she was always under the radar when it came to the fashion world.

However, Branquinho was meticulous in her attention to detail and was a pro when it came to her use of fabrics.   She was one of the designers that I said I’d buy a piece from their line once I “made it”, because I knew that it would last forever in its stylish form.

Plus, her shoes were always on point:

Branquinho ShoesBranquinho Shoes 2

Now, it’s one less designer I’ll be looking  for in the stream of Fashion Week photos and reading the runway report on Style.com.  Not that I ever got the feeling that she was the highlight of their reviews, anyway.   As for what’s next for Ms. Branquinho, she  will likely focus her time as the artistic director of Belgian leather-goods brand Delvaux.

So as we bid adieu to another talented designer who had the goods, but couldn’t stay afloat during these economic times, I leave with this video from of her Paris 2008 Fall runway show.

One response to “Another one bites the dust

  1. That’s too bad. The way the economy is, and the fashion industry in specific, it’s surprising that some young brands manage to survive. I think convention is beginning to change though as people are finding new ways to channel their creativity and marketing/branding no longer means spending 100k on a fashion show..

Leave a Reply

