Flat Out

One of my few self-authorized purchases over the past couple of weeks that I’ve been looking to capitalize on has been a nice, comfortable, fairly inexpensive pair of flats. My mother and friends relentlessly clowned my Payless flats and said they looked like house slippers, so I decided another pair might be in order.    I’ve never really felt that flats should cost over $150 and even that would be a bit steep.   I even bought a pair of Tory Burch flats because I thought that they would be the everyday shoes and I wouldn’t need a pair of flats for a long time.  Wrong.  The cute golden T/T medallion fell off after two weeks and I had to go to Nordstrom to get them replaced (for free!).  And after another 2 months, the bottom of the shoe has started to display some serious signs of wear and tear, including a torn sole.   And these are $195 shoes, folks.  No sweet deal there.   On the lower end, I bought a pair of Nine West flats over the weekend for under $60, but those flats were hard and my feet were starting to look like some serious ugly was about to happen.

So, ever since I’ve seen Susie Bubble’s post about this shoe company, Marais USA, I’ve been quite intrigued what they will have to offer.  Most of the shoes are flat or have an extremely low heel (1 and 1/4 inches) and the prices range from $49-$69.   In the “About Us” section of the website, it explains that the creators, Catherine Chen and Haley Boyd, just wanted to create “simple, versatile and essential styles that don’t break the bank”.  Amen to that.  They’re not yet available from the online shop, but I do think I’m going to take the plunge and buy a pair.  Normally, I hate buying shoes online, but I think this might be worth the gamble.  Here are two pairs of shoes I’m contemplating (but in black):

seeOnGirl-bleeker-big

seeOnGirl-mercer-bigPics from Maraisusa.com

The first pair aren’t flats, and have a baby wedge, but that’s fine.  And I quite like the second pair since they have a round toe.  Either way, once they become available to order online, I’m definitely going to get a pair and if this company can win me over.

7 responses to “Flat Out

  1. I can’t believe the Tory Burch’s were such bad quality! That stinks. Anyhow, I love the first flats with the mini wedge, they’re really really cute! Let us know if you end up getting either!

  2. I definitely will! And yes, I was shocked about the Tory Burch’s, too. I thought maybe the first pair was just bad, but the 2nd pair was equally bad! Thank God for Nordstrom and their awesome customer service for replacing the shoes! And I’ll let you guys know if I end up getting the Marais shoes!

  3. Bleh. I’m so anti-Tory Burch! Glad you’re going for an indie designer. *crossing fingers* 🙂

  4. I like the second pair with the round toe too!

  5. It’s too unfortunate when upscale brands begin to cut corners. On a brighter note, I love, love the brilliant green on the first pair!!

  6. I love the colours of both! I can’t wait until they’re for sale online too x

  7. Cute flats. I’ve only in recent years began wearing heals, as they were never too comfortable for me. I could be called the flats queen. I particularly like the green flats. I have a pair that’s similiar them them, only they’re black.

Leave a Reply

