Exploring Ayurvedic Hair Care

I haven’t done a hair post in awhile, so I figured I was due.  I’ve dabbled in ayurvedic hair care in the past, but I hadn’t really used it consistently enough to see any real results.  I’d wash with shikakai shampoo once and then I’d go back to using my regular old shampoo.   Lately, I’ve been trying to produce healthier hair and I’ve been paying attention to the ingredients in everything I use.   What I’ve found is that while many commercial products may have 1 or 2 ingredients that benefit the hair, the rest of the ingredients add nothing beneficial  and many times, you end up with hair feeling bogged down by product.   So I’ve gone back into exploring ayurvedic hair care and I’ve found that many of the ingredients listed are actually beneficial and have a purpose for being added in.

My main beef has always been finding a nice oil to apply to my hair and scalp.   My hair would either feel too greasy, limp and lifeless or as if I hadn’t used anything at all.  Also, many of the oils contained silicone (a no-no for me) and that made it even harder in my search for a light oil.   Now, I’ve started using two well-known ayurvedic products: Dabur Amla oil and Vatika oil.

Dabur-Amla-Hair-Oil-Big

This is the box for the Dabur Amla oil.  I got a 500ml bottle for $5.50, which definitely goes a long way.  The ingredients include Mineral Oil, Veg Oil (Sesame Oil, Canola Oil, Peanut Oil, Cotton seed Oil, Palmolein Oil), oil extract of Goosberry. What worries me is the mineral oil since that’s something I usually don’t like , but overall, the ingredients aren’t too bad.   I apply the oil and massage it in my hair and scalp and leave it on overnight.  In the morning,  I do my regular wash and shampoo routine.   I won’t apply it if I’m going outdoors and I’m not going to wash my hair, because this oil has a pretty strong and…distinct smell.

dabur_vatika

I also picked up Dabur Vatika oil, which is something I use more frequently.  The 300ml bottle was $7.50, and once again, a little really goes a long way for me.   The  ingredients in this oil includ Pure Coconut Oil ,Lemon, Amla, Neem leaves, and Henna.   I apply this Vatika oil  2-3 nights a week and I really make sure to massage my scalp since the oil is very beneficial to a dry and itchy scalp.  Plus, it’s not as heavy and the smell isn’t as strong as the Amla oil, so I’ve found I can actually style my hair as usual and go in the morning.

henna_box

Next on my ayuvedic hair care list?  I’d love to try henna.   There are so many benefits such as strengthening hair and less shedding overall.  Plus, it is a great alternative to commercial hair coloring.  The downside?  It can be messy and it’s very time consuming.   I’ve been reading Wes at Honey Brown Sugar’s accounts of her henna applications and it has really tempted me to jump on in after seeing the results.   I believe a box of henna at my local Indian grocery store was about $2.99, so it’s definitely worth trying.

4 responses to “Exploring Ayurvedic Hair Care

  1. These all sound like they would smell amazing! Post a photo of your lovely hair, please? x

  2. Go for it. Jamila produces some lovely auburn shades. It is my fav henna.

    See my blog for photos of my henna results.

    http://thesycamoreboutique.blogspot.com

  3. Hmm, I’ve heard recently that henna can be more drying than typical at-home hair color. I’m interested to hear what you think of it if you end up using it.

    The vatika oil sounds amazing. I’ve been using coconut oil in my hair and love it!

  4. Frankie: Ooo, I still suffer from bad split ends syndrome via refusal to go to a proper salon 🙂 But once I try the henna, I will post a before/after pic, promise! 🙂

    Boutique–Your henna looks great! Really shiny and a beautiful tint! Definitely inspiring!

    Najeema–I’ve heard that henna can be drying as well, and I guess some people mix it with other oils, etc to get more moisture? I’ll have to tread lightly on the first application, but I might add honey or coconut oil. And if you love coconut oil (which is the best, imo), then I think you’ll like the vatika oil!

Leave a Reply

