Saving Face

Lately, I have been obsessed with having clear and beautiful skin.  I recently went to my local Nordstrom spa and got a facial from a  outspoken esthetician.  She lectured about my skin and was able to conclude that my diet was poor, I’m stressed and whatever products I’m using just ain’t working for me.   She gave me a peel to help calm the breakouts and she evaluated my diet and told me about some vitamins that should always be on my “always” list–that is, they should always be taken, no matter what.  Afterward, she recommended some products to aid in rejuvenating my skin.

Since my friend was the first one to recommend this spa and this particular product, I decided to give it a try:

thalgoThalgo Cocooning Cleansing Milk.  $34 from the Nordstrom Spa and my new daily cleanser for day AND night.  I told the esthetician about my Shu Uemura Skin Purifier and how ecstatic I was about the oi cleansing method and she had me throw the idea out the window.  She told me that the oil was just clogging up my skin and not moisturizing whatsoever.   I’m still not 100% ready to give up on the Shu Uemura oil yet.   However, the Cocooning Cleansing Milk is paraben free and very gentle on the skin.  I’ve noticed a very (positive) difference since incorporating it into my regimen.

lerosett70Lerosett Clay Mask.  Made by Gunilla of Sweden, this mask is organic and only has two ingredients: naturally organic clay and distilled water.  Once the mask is on the face, it feels, as one reviewer put it, “like the oil is just being sucked out of your face”.  You end up with a fresh and clean feeling face.  Any zits you might have on your face, also seem to either go away or feel much smaller within the next day or so.

And this is the next product on my list to try out:

nc_chamomil1

Mario Badescu skin care is supposed to be very gentle and pretty affordable.  Since I’m gracefully aging,  night creams are becoming an important and necessary part of my regimen.   This Chamomille Night Cream is supposed to be a bit ligher and better for sensitive skin.  I was previously using L’Oreal Hydra-Renewal, but my face would feel extra-greasy.

The best thing I can do for my skin?  Water.  Lots and lots of water.

My plan?  To turn the state of my skin around in the next 6 months and see a noticable difference.  I’ve already seen a slight difference so far with the changes I’ve incorporated, so I am very enthused.

8 responses to “Saving Face

  1. What kind of tips did she give for your diet?

  2. You know, babe, my advice is to start eating oatmeal EVERY MORNING. It does wonders for the complexion (and the digestive system). I think the products you got are great. If you ever want to switch-up the moisturizers, the one I’ve been using for the past two years is Neutrogena Healthy Skin, it’s AMAZING, they sell it everywhere and at 8$ you can’t go wrong.

  3. Hi Orientellegal,

    She told me that I needed protein. Lots and lots of protein. However, she said I needed GOOD protein, because the protein that I was getting was bad and it wasn’t breaking down in my system. Plus, anything high in antioxidants. So I’ve been bringing loads of fruit and veggies in to work every morning and eating that. Plus, I’m cutting my servings for dinner in half.

    And Deep In Vogue–You know, I’m looking at oatmeal next. My mom has been eating it every morning since I can remember. I have never liked the taste, but I think I’m going to have to get over it. And thanks for the recommendation on the Neutrogena ! For that price, you definitely can’t go wrong!

  4. Ohhh these sound great! I’ll have to check them out x

  5. Did she give examples of “good” protein?

    Btw, I eat oatmeal every morning. I know what you mean about the taste but you can totally dress it up! I put honey & cinnamon in mine, it becomes a morning desert 🙂 I never thought about oatmeal as being good for my skin but it’s GREAT for the digestive tract!

  6. I totally feel you on the skin problems, for two years I was in a constant battle with it. I had a really bad diet as well but now I drink a lot of water, tea and I have a salad with lunch and dinner. I rarely eat fast food.. maybe 1 every two weeks. It has made a big difference. I use regular aveeno face wash but the most important thing I do is warm compresses. I take a hot/warm wash cloth and apply it to my face for the duration of a song -3min- morning and night. My face has never looked better.

    I do like the night cream though, I should start using one… I guess I am aging. 🙂

  7. She was telling me that veggies and fruits, anything that is green would be a good protein for me. Put in a little protein powder and mix them in a blender and make a yummy protein shake. Basically, I need to stay away from steak and beef and if I’m going to eat meat, then concentrate on chicken and turkey. I can, but it’ll be hard to give up the turkey.

    And Alixrose, that’s the regiment I’m pretty much on now. Fast food and I are breaking up and I’m just traveling with water and tea, and salads! I will have to try the warm compress!

  8. You still need to get me a sample of that mask!!

Leave a Reply

