Fit for a First Lady

mo-thakoon

WWD posted designer sketches that were submitted if they were to design for the future First Lady’s innagural activities. For the most part, I liked many of them. Mrs. Obama has been hailed as a fashion breakout star during the campaign citing Chicago-based designer Maria Pinto as her early favorite.   And I personally loved her Thakoon floral print dress that she wore to the Democratic National Convention pictured above.

The opportunity to dress Mrs. O for the Inaugural activities and beyond would be exposure great for any designer.   Jacqueline Kennedy’s chose Oleg Cassini and current First Lady, Laura Bush, has favored Oscar De La Renta during her time in the White House.   However, with the exception of Maria Pinto and possibly Narcisco Rodriguez (who, by the way, I am surprised that we didn’t see a sketch from), I feel Mrs. Obama will switch it up a bit more and her fashion choices will make for an exciting and interesting four years.

Here the sketches that I think will be the most interesting if they were brought to life:

mo-monique-lhuillierI think the red would really pop on Mrs. Obama.  Plus, I love the one-shoulder aspect.

mo-rodarteI’m a professed Rodarte fan for the most part, so I’m always intrigued by the Mulleavy sisters.  I think the delicate design might work for Michelle and the Obama daughters.

mo-peter-somThis is pretty simple, but Winter White from Peter Som could be pretty nice.

mo-oscar-de-la-rentaAnd I know Oscar De La Renta has been in the fashion game for the White House First Lady’s for awhile now, so it’d be nice for a change, but I think the floral print would be nice.   This design would be a pretty safe and conservative choice.

mo-mk

And I’m not a Michael Kors fan generally, but I think the blue would be a nice color and the dress would work with her tall and slender figure.

One response to “Fit for a First Lady

  1. I like the Michael Kors one, but I also like the Chanel gown. What can I say? I’m a sucker for Chanel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

